Chat with us, powered by LiveChat
Free Initial Consultation Available 24 / 7 All Major Credit Cards Accepted 1200 Route 22 East, Suite 2000, Bridgewater, NJ 08807 908-533-1064

BLOG

Contact us for a free consultation and our attorneys will assist you immediately

schedule consultation
William A ProettaReviewsout of 30 reviews Keith G OliverReviewsout of 55 reviews

Need a Lawyer for a Disorderly Persons Offense?

What is a Disorderly Persons Offense in NJ?

Charged with a Disorderly Persons Offense in Somerset County?

What is a Disorderly Persons Offense?

First and foremost it is important to discuss exactly what a disorderly persons offense is and in turn what it is not. A disorderly persons offense is a degree of a charge and not a charge in and of itself. All to often it is confused with disorderly conduct which is a criminal offense and also happens to be considered a disorderly persons offense.  A disorderly persons offense is considered New Jersey’s version of a misdemeanor and as you will see below, if convicted, a individual would be scarred with a criminal record. 

Do I have to go to Court for a Disorderly Persons Offense?

Anyone charged with a disorderly and/or petty disorderly persons offenses will be required to appear in court to answer for the charges. All disorderly and petty disorderly persons offense will be litigated in the local municipal court in the municipality where the incident occurred. For example, if a defendant is charged with disorderly conduct in Bridgewater Township they will be forced to litigate the charges in the Bridgewater Municipal Court. However, if a defendant is charged with disorderly conduct as well as an indictable offense, which is New Jersey’s version of a felony and it stems from the same incident, both charges will be transferred to the Somerset County Superior Court in Somerville for disposition.

What is the Sentence for a Disorderly Persons Offense in NJ?

As touched upon above, disorderly and petty disorderly persons offenses are considered New Jersey’s version of a misdemeanor. If convicted a defendant could be facing the following penalties:

Disorderly Persons Offense

  • 6 Months in the Somerset County Jail
  • $1,000 Fine
  • Fees and Assessments Ranging up to $300
  • Community Service
  • Probation
  • Potential Loss of License
  • Court Ordered Rehab
  • Court Ordered Anger Management

Petty Disorderly Persons Offense

  • 30 Days in the Somerset County Jail
  • $500 Fine
  • Fees and Assessments Ranging up to $300
  • Community Service
  • Probation
  • Potential Loss of License
  • Court Ordered Rehab
  • Court Ordered Anger Management

A conviction for either degree will remain on the individuals record for at least three (3) years. If the individual does not have any prior or subsequent convictions they could petition the court to expunge their record after the three year waiting period as been completed. For more information on expunging a disorderly persons offense please click the link.

What Crimes are Considered Disorderly Persons Offenses?

There are numerous disorderly and petty disorderly persons offenses under the New Jersey criminal code. Some of the most common disorderly and petty disorderly persons offenses charged in both Somerset and Hunterdon County include the following:

Looking for an Attorney for a Disorderly Persons Offense in Readington?

If you have been charged with a disorderly persons offense in Somerset or Hunterdon County in towns like Raritan, Somerville, Bound Brook, Clinton, Bedminster, Union Township, Watchung, Bridgewater or North Plainfield it is important that you contact an attorney as soon as possible. Understanding the charges and the potential penalties that could be imposed is imperative to mounting a successful defense. If you would like to speak to one of our Somerset or Hunterdon County criminal defense attorneys about your options please contact our office at 908-533-1064.

%d bloggers like this: